5 Ways Intermittent Fasting Works

It doesn’t require perfection

Drew Ford
7 min readFeb 25, 2021

--

Photo by Pixabay from Pexels

For a guy like me, intermittent fasting was not on the menu of lifestyle choices for 2021. Eating what I wanted, when I wanted, and how I wanted, became a luxury I refused to give up. While not necessarily overweight, I continuously was defined as obese on the BMI chart, at 6’5’, 230 lbs.

Even after realizing I was in the category of the morbidly overweight, there wasn’t much hesitation to give up that delicious Garlic Chicken Gourmet pizza, or my favorite Al Pastor tacos from the local taqueria. My wife wasn’t overly concerned, so why would I be? There was a lack of incentive to make any drastic changes, considering I was already considered old, and had kids.

Excuses, Excuses, Excuses…

Until my most recent blood test results from my yearly physical last November.

Hgb A1c %

5.9 %

<=5.6 %

ESTIMATED AVERAGE GLUCOSE

123 mg/dL

85–126 mg/dL

Cholesterol

216 mg/dL

<=239 mg/dL

LDL CALCULATED, NONFASTING

154 mg/dL

--

--

Drew Ford

12-year middle school teacher and new administrator in the Bay Area. An immense believer in the power of confidence. My message is clear: Invest in yourself!